4 Comments
Oct 4, 2021Liked by David Gibson

I'm gonna print out what you wrote. I only read it once, it touched the chord of truth.

Expand full comment
Oct 4, 2021Liked by David Gibson

My comment is exactly how I am thinking now about my life, my art, my memory of my son and his poetic license. I'll tell you about that later. Tonight I had a meaningful discussion with his daughter Freya. It seems that the transient of his soul has transferred into her. I can copy paste that part of our conversation to you in email. She is into anima, she is into a lot of things that suit her generation, one of which is tattoos. But his spirit as he compelled me to paint for him his imaginings, subjects that leaned on both spiritual and an imaginative world, what an experience that was. You haven't seen the results in the paintings. Well it is complex reaching all the way back to his birth when I realized he was different. He had the same brain problem that my two brothers had, and apparently it came from my maternal grandfather. So he wasn't "quite right" and I intuited it from the start, when he was an infant. There was a distance. Now If I had known what I know now concerning the intellectual tenets of Judaic thought, I would had overcome my doubts of who I thought he was, and treated him with the kindness that is given to every other human, within the Judaic thought. The purpose is to grow, to know thyself as what is happening with your realizations in your writing. Not to judge.Yeah, so my art is now not to paint things, even not a semblance of a non objective work, but to let each new thought come from within. As soon as it is crystalized into a crystal mountain scene, but not yet on canvas, I let myself wonder if that is a path, or a mirage. Enough. Tanks for writing the above, I want to print it out and put it on the wall in bold font.

Expand full comment